Nostalgia

In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.

“Whenever you feel like criticizing any one,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.”

Sometimes after reading someone else’s second-rate blog or listening to their undistinguished podcast, I become overwhelmed and filled with considerable frustration due to their mediocrity. It’s at this point of irritation when I often reflect on this guidance from my father.

“The advantages, huh? What exactly are those advantages, and how exactly do they relate to your distribution of such quality material over the web?” I know that some of you are inevitably thinking this. Before I can even confront this hypothetical, yet highly realistic and all-too-speculatively-common thought, I must go into this…

Many listeners have called into our Sunday night open-discussion, communal Skype chats asking: “Why don’t you guys go more into your presumably sensational backstories on the podcast?”

Another question we’re frequently faced with is: “I’ve learned so much from Como, when am I going to learn more about Como?”

And another classic, my personal favorite, is: “How could three relatively unknown (through mainstream media) white kids from Suburbia, USA come out so hot and become famed podcast and blog personalities literally over night?”

We haven’t exactly gone deep into our sensational backstories on the podcast, mainly because of our desire to eventually produce and distribute our own cinéma vérité-inspired, video exploration of our achievements and status as elite conversationalists.

If you’re reading this right now and thinking, “Aw, man… Mike, Matt, and TJ certainly are elite conversationalists and I’d love to learn more about them… where’s this cinéma vérité?!” then you aren’t alone, as this very thought was just tweeted and subsequently retweeted by thousands. But, to answer all of your thoughts and concerns: yes, we’re currently in the final stages of developing our own eight-episode documentary mini-series, which is set to premiere on HBO this coming winter.

But, in the meantime, you can check out our blogs and podcasts, which will start explaining ourselves a little more. Still, though, as Como’s clean-up hitter, Michael Gioia, explained best in his recent post, “Like, He’s So Mysterious… I Think I Wanna Bang Him,” the key has to be mystery. Strictly, mystery and nothing else.

And having said that, I’m not going to necessarily go into the advantages my father mentioned in his advice, but I will, however, say that they may have something to do with me disguising some lines from the revered F. Scott Fitzgerald’s “The Great Gatsby” as mine and those of my father’s, which should be lauded as praiseworthy, yet may be considered imposing, as many of you most likely read over them without acknowledging and/or recognizing the magnificent prose that you most likely read so many years ago.

There ya have it. Not here, but later…

Matt
@mtsnyda

Comment

