Don’t Point at Me, Bro

If you read either of my first two blog posts on here, you’re probably thinking, “what the fuck?”

And, it’s funny you probably thought that, because I definitely thought “what the fuck” earlier today as I was scanning my Facebook news feed. Anyone who’s a fan of the podcast is more than aware of my frustration and complete disdain towards what many people continually post on Facebook. It only takes a few posts about GPA’s, or one or two new car muploads for me to get disgusted by seemingly everyone’s inherent desire to be envied, accomplished, and/or accepted, especially on the Internet.

For those who aren’t aware, I always live video stream myself typing these blog posts. So, for those watching, as well as those reading after the fact, I want to address one of the several thousand viewers who was just audacious enough to tweet: “You routinely post statuses about your ultra-impressive podcast/blog…wouldn’t that fit into YOUR desire to feel accomplished and accepted?”

First, I want to acknowledge and commend this twitter user for his/her self-control and finesse in regards to tweeting. To those who did not immediate notice: this tweet was precisely 140 characters, which is rather impressive given the user’s short time frame to both conceive and execute this tweet, which was in between me writing the second paragraph and continuing to the (now sidetracked and delayed) third and fourth, because, as mentioned, I write these live to thousands of streaming viewers. Having said that, I would also like to acknowledge and commend myself, as I immediately noticed that this user utilized his/her exact 140 character limit, as it was being verbally recited to me by our social media intern who sits in-studio with me when I blog. Props to us both. Not the intern, but the user.

To the user: you bring up a valid point. But it’s not that valid, which, unfortunately, for you (as well as the intern who thought your tweet had merit, which it didn’t) means that I can only partially commend it. In response to your tweet, I’m already accomplished, which is why I can post such statuses. And because of my accomplishments, I’m already accepted. So, go fuck yourself for thinking otherwise. But, again, great twitter finesse; that was really impressive for the several reasons I outlined in the second paragraph. Maybe we can hire you as a replacement for our current social media intern.

The reason I initially wrote about my frustrations regarding peoples’ Facebook activity was because I wanted to highlight an irritating, ongoing Facebook trend of utter hypocrisy. Whenever I see someone post a picture of himself/herself and a celebrity, more often than not, the Facebook user is pointing to the celebrity. Everything about the picture is how it normally should be: smiles, some sort of physical contact, and generally, an amusing background. But, then, when you start to focus in on the “point,” you begin to see a clear disparity within the picture and, subsequently, its polished deceit when posted on Facebook.

The Facebook user is posting the picture because he/she wants people to know that he/she had come into contact with this notable person and even communicated with him/her in such a way as to organize a photo, which could imply the quite feasible possibility that further intercommunication and perhaps a grown fondness for one another is not out of the question.

For those following, this fits perfectly with the idea of someone posting in order to draw the “envy factor”. But, in actuality, when you point to someone like that, even if it’s someone who’s actually accomplished, you make yourself look like an absolute idiot who shouldn’t be envied due to your public display of inadequacy, which is demonstrated and highlighted by your point. It’s hypocritical. And it’s silly. Don’t point. There’s no need. Why not just grab shoulders and smile, and then post for the envy factor? By pointing, you’re visually telling everyone you’re showing that you’re not accomplished, but, rather, that it’s the person you’re with who’s accomplished and should be envied. Do you believe that? Is that your role? The messenger of envy? Think about it.

I urge all our conspirators who will inevitably go scouring through my, TJ, and Mike’s Facebook photo archives to go right ahead and see what you can find. If you were to “catch” one of us ostensibly devaluing ourselves and pointing at a fellow photo taker, I must tell you that you’re wrong. I would, however, commend you for finding such a photo, but, more importantly, if all goes well, for following my profound guidance, which follows: it’s totally well and good if someone points to someone else who’s obviously not nearly as well-known, successful, or noticeably, visually-captivating. In this case, it’s just mocking and funny.

So, with that, here’s a picture of Como ‘big three’ member, Michael Gioia, with an excited fan out in Mount Hood, Orgeon, at the Timberline Lodge, on New Year’s Eve, 2012.

Seriously, think about it.

Matt
@mtsnyda

Comment

